Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Alexander Yau and Ching Pong (Dono) Ng | Rachmaninoff and Thereafter

17 June 2024 @ 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm AEST

$20 – $30
rachmaninov thereafter june 2024 concert poster copy page 0001

Founders of the “Rachmaninoff-150th” concert series at the Sydney Conservatorium – pianists Alexander Yau and Ching Pong (Dono) Ng continues to celebrate the works of the composer. Their recently concluded series featured the majority of Rachmaninoff’s solo piano and chamber music output, along with his most influential contemporaries including Tchaikovsky, Arensky, Godowsky and Medtner, as an acknowledgement to their contributions in musical and pianistic development from the late 19th century.

In the same spirit, this chamber music concert, “Rachmaninoff and Thereafter” features 3 substantial Russian duos – from Rachmaninoff’s 2-Piano Suite no. 1 “Fantasie-Tableaux”, Prokofiev retrospective Cello Sonata to Medtner’s late masterpiece Violin Sonata no. 3 “Epica”. All 3 works showcase the full capacity and versatility of the piano as an instrument, and in the sonatas its timbre complimented and extended by the vibrancy of the violin and cello.


Sergei Rachmaninoff
2-Piano Suite no. 1 in G minor, op. 5

Ching Pong (Dono) Ng, piano
Alexander Yau, piano

Sergei Prokofiev
Sonata for Cello and Piano in C major, op. 119

Alexander Yau, piano
Miles Mullin-Chivers, cello


Nikolai Medtner
Sonata for Violin and Piano no. 3 in E minor, op. 57 – “Epica”

Beatrice Colombis, violin
Ching Pong (Dono) Ng, piano

(Approximately 100 minutes, inclusive of a 15-minute interval)

About the works

A great figure of the music scene from the late 19th century, Rachmaninoff inspired many young composers that came after him – in similar fashion that he was inspired by Tchaikovsky in his young. Rachmaninoff’s early work – 2-piano Suite no. 1 “Fantasie-Tableaux”, op. 5 reflected that youthfulness, with flairs and fancy pianistic decorations on top of his signature luscious melodies in all 4 of its movements. Prokofiev’s music, although took on a different route and adapted a modern harmonic language, retained that unmistakable Russian flavour and lyricism. The meditative late work, sonata in C major for Cello and Piano, showcases this aspect of his craft and is one of the most accessible works by the composer.

Nikolai Medtner, a younger contemporary and close friend of Rachmaninoff, was supported by the senior throughout his life. The duo were amongst the very last defenders of tonality, and Medtner’s 3rd violin sonata in E minor was one of the greatest and most expensive in the late romantic repertoire. A legend, tale and ballade of “epic” proportion, the 4-movement E minor violin sonata lasts for 45 minutes and requires a pair of violinist and pianist with great virtuosity, sensitivity and a deep understanding of musical complexity to perform – as such it has remained a rarity in concert programs.


17 June 2024
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm AEST
$20 – $30
Event Categories:
, , , , ,
Event Tags:
, , , , , , ,
Book Now


Alexander Yau
View Organiser Website


Sydney Conservatorium of Music: Recital Hall West, Sydney
Conservatorium Road
Sydney, NSW 2000 Australia
+ Google Map