« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Australia Ensemble: Robert and Clara

12 May 2018 @ 8:00 pm - 10:00 pm AEST

Tickets: $54/$41/$32/$15 (Adult/Senior/Concession/Student rush)

“… The Australia Ensemble always fills me with high expectations of consummate musical performance” Danial Kaan, ClassikON 2016

The story of Clara and Robert is one of the most poignant musical romances in history. Before her 21st birthday, Clara Wieck was entrenched in a series of legal battles with her father to marry the composer and pianist Robert Schumann; a man she diligently nursed through various afflictions and illnesses later in life, whilst still maintaining her own international career as a concert pianist. One of the most prestigious and progressive musicians of the romantic era, she changed the very nature of piano recitals, reformed expectations of chamber music, and whose revolutionary ideas fostered two of the most prolific young musicians of the era – Joachim and Brahms. Her Piano Trio in G minor is a testament to her revered abilities as both composer and performer. This is accompanied by the exuberance of Robert Schumann’s Piano Quintet, which in itself is considered one of the greatest masterpieces of nineteenth century chamber music. The two pieces complementing the program are tributes to both Clara and her husband; an Homage á Robert Schumann by Hungarian-born György Kurtag, and the newly commissioned work by Australian composer Natalie Williams, New work – Letters to Clara, stand as testament to the Schumanns and their life’s work.


  • Artistic Chair: Paul Stanhope
  • Dene Olding (violin)
  • Dimity Hall (violin)
  • Irina Morozova (viola)
  • Julian Smiles (cello)
  • Ian Munro (piano)
  • Geoffrey Collins (flute)
  • David Griffiths (clarinet)
  • with Natalie Williams (featured Composer)


  • Natalie WILLIAMS | New work (Letters to Clara) – first performance (2018)
  • Clara SCHUMANN | Piano Trio in G minor Op. 17 (1846)
  • György KURTÁG | Hommage à (Robert) Schumann Op. 15b (1990)
  • Robert SCHUMANN | Piano Quintet Op. 44 in E flat major (1842)


UNSW: Sir John Clancy Auditorium, Kensington
High St & Wansey Rd
Kensington, NSW 2052 Australia
+ Google Map