« All Events

Canberra Symphony Orchestra | Australian Series: Reclaiming the Night

18 November 2021 @ 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm AEDT

$30 – $60

In this closing concert of the 2021 Australian Series, we welcome guest ensemble PLEXUS. Driven by Monica Curro (violin), Philip Arkinstall (clarinet) and Stefan Cassomenos (piano), PLEXUS collaborates with Australian and international filmmakers, actors, directors, poets, choirs and visual artists as well as guest instrumentalists and vocalists. Since 2014, the collective has commissioned over 100 new works, including this world premiere from Brenda Gifford.

The program opens with Into the Light by Nat Bartsch, brimming with all the anticipation of a joyful departure into the unknown.

From there, Leanne Bear bids us recall, almost violently, the image of Notre Dame ablaze. The composer’s Nôtre Gothique offers, in her words, “musical pillars of chords…the violin and clarinet danc[ing] together in a diabolical duet with the noble piano.”

Series curator Deborah Cheetham offers one of her own works, INSIEME – YAPENEYEPUK – TOGETHER, which asks the question: What will it take to bring us together?

The program closes with Sally Greenaway’s Quietude, which evokes both the dark destruction of the battlefield and the fragile but tenacious hope that rises from it.


Deborah Cheetham AO


Nat Bartsch
Into the Light

Leanne Bear
Nôtre Gothique

Deborah Cheetham AO

Brenda Gifford
World premiere, PLEXUS commission

Sally Greenaway

Image: Belinda Strodder



National Museum of Australia
Lawson Crescent
Acton, ACT 2601 Australia
+ Google Map
(02) 6208 5000
View Venue Website