« All Events

Canberra Symphony Orchestra | Chamber Classics: Reimagined Winds

17 October 2021 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm AEDT

$30 – $45

This final concert in our inaugural Chamber Classics Series comprises beloved works by Rossini, Grainger, Haydn, Dukas and Shostakovich. Each piece is arranged for wind quintet, a versatile ensemble capable of both flamboyant extroversion and delicate sensitivity.

Highlights of the program include the overture from The Barber of Seville, one of Rossini’s numerous, well-loved operas, and Dukas’ feverish Sorcerer’s Apprentice. For many, the latter has become inextricably associated with Walt Disney’s iconic Fantasia – fortunately, our musicians possess agility and virtuosity well beyond the hapless Mickey Mouse. In this arrangement, the quintet does the work of a full orchestra in conjuring up the rich sound world: ethereal and mysterious, punctuated by frenzied musical outbursts and building to a dramatic climax.

This program also features reimaginings of two popular works by Shostakovich, the slinky Waltz No. 2 and the contrastingly cheeky Tahiti Trot. The latter is, itself, a reimagining of Tea for Two from the 1925 musical comedy No, No, Nanette. Legend has it that Shostakovich produced the Tahiti Trot in under an hour.


CSO Chamber Players


Arrangements for wind quintet –

Gioachino Rossini
Overture from The Barber of Seville

Percy Grainger
Molly on the Shore

Joseph Haydn
Divertimento No. 1

Paul Dukas
The Sorcerer’s Apprentice

Dmitri Shostakovich
Waltz No. 2
Tahiti Trot



17 October 2021
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
$30 – $45
Book Now:
View Event Website


Albert Hall, Canberra
Commonwealth Avenue
Canberra, ACT 2601 Australia
+ Google Map