« All Events

Canberra Symphony Orchestra | Longing and Desire

13 May 2021 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm AEST

|Recurring Event (See all)

An event every day that begins at 7:30 pm, happening 2 times

$30 – $101

Based on Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet, Prokofiev’s ballet score of the same name is an exhilarating and ultimately devastating depiction of such perilous desire. It is a work of mighty opposites: joy and grief, fate and chance, life and death. Though not marred by such ‘violent ends’, Richard Meale’s Viridian is equally evocative. Rachmaninoff’s second piano concerto dances between light and shade, full of lyrical melodies and exhilarating crescendos.


Jessica Cottis Conductor

Andrea Lam Piano

Canberra Symphony Orchestra


Richard Meale Viridian

Sergei Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto No. 2

Sergei Prokofiev Selections from Romeo and Juliet




13 May 2021
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm
$30 – $101
Book Now:
View Event Website


Llewellyn Hall, ANU, Canberra
William Herbert Place
Canberra, ACT 2601 Australia
+ Google Map