« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Ironwood: Trésors des Pianistes

1 June 2019 @ 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm AEST

$10 – $45


The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tickets are not yet available

After a rapturous reception for Ironwood’s performance of Saint-Saëns piano quintet last year they continue their exploration of French Romantic piano music with a beautiful work by Louise Farrenc. A professor of piano for over thirty years at the Paris Conservatoire, Farrenc had connections with many of the great figures in musical history, and was also celebrated as a composer. ‘Les Trésors des Pianistes’ is an anthology of great works for the piano, edited by Farrenc and encompassing three centuries of music from across Europe. Ironwood complement Farrenc’s lyrical first piano quintet with one of Schubert’s charming early string quartets.


  • SCHUBERT | String Quartet no. 7 in D major
  • FARRENC | Piano Quintet no 1 in A minor


  • Rachael Beesley & Caroline Hopson | violins
  • Simon Oswell | viola
  • Daniel Yeadon | cello
  • Robert Nairn | double bass
  • Neal Peres Da Costa | 19th century Érard piano


1 June 2019
6:30 pm - 7:30 pm
$10 – $45


Sydney Conservatorium of Music: Recital Hall West, Sydney
Conservatorium Road
Sydney, NSW 2000 Australia
+ Google Map