« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Ironwood: Legends & Memories – Australian old and new

23 June 2018 @ 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm AEST

$10.00 – $45.00

In Season 1 Ironwood delve into three unique soundscapes by Australian composers: opening with the second string quartet of seventeen by composer and violinist, Alfred Hill. Born in Australia and raised in New Zealand, Hill’s ‘A Maori Legend in Four Scenes’, is one of his better known works, and was premiered the year it was completed. The four movements capture the mysterious and wonderful found in the legend Hill’s beautifully detailed concept notes depict.

Tim Dargaville describes his collection of short string quartet works from ‘Lost Pages from the Book of Memory and Forgetting’, as snapshots of his mother’s chaotic years suffering from dementia. He notes : “Perceptions of past and present became increasingly intermingled and her language took strange and often beautiful forms, with sentences disappearing, or disparate thoughts connecting.” The first five movements are distinct from one another, however Movements VI – XI gradually lose distinguishing characteristics, through abrupt direction and character shifts. Following on from this is Percy Grainger’s ‘Molly on the Shore’, which was originally composed for string quartet, but explores the textures of two contrasting Irish themes.


  • Anna McMichael (violin)
  • Rachael Beesley (violin)
  • Simon Oswell (viola)
  • Danny Yeadon (cello)


23 June 2018
6:30 pm - 7:30 pm
$10.00 – $45.00
Book Now:


Sydney Conservatorium of Music: Recital Hall East, Sydney
Conservatorium Road
Sydney, NSW 2000 Australia
+ Google Map