« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Kawai Piano Series | Stephen Emmerson plays Janáček

27 April 2021 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm AEST

This concert is live streamed on Melbourne Digital Concert Hall

Janáček’s works for piano are exquisite gems, intimate expressions in a musical language all his own. At the center is his Sonata – a work of blazing intensity, an impassioned response to injustice – while the surrounding character pieces are among his most personal and alluring music.


Stephen Emmerson – Piano


Janáček – On an Overgrown Path (Book 1)

1. Naše večery (Our Evenings)

2. Lístek odvanutý(A Blown-Away Leaf)

3. Pojďte s námi! (Come With Us!)

4. Frýdecká panna Maria (The Madonna of Frydek)

5. Štěbetaly jak laštovičky (They Chattered Like Swallows)

6. Nelze domluvit! (Words Fail!)

7. Dobrou noc! (Good Night!)

8. Tak neskonale úzko (Unutterable Anguish)

9. V pláči (In Tears)

10. Sýček neodletěl! (The Barn Owl Has Not Flown Away!)

Janáček – Piano Sonata 1.X.1905

I. Předtucha (Foreboding) – Con moto

II. Smrt (Death) – Adagio