« All Events

Omega Ensemble | Brahms, Bruch and Smalley – Melbourne

28 October 2021 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm AEDT

$39 – $69
When Johannes Brahms wrote his two Sonatas for Clarinet and Piano in 1894, he published an accompanying version written for viola. He, like many composers since, considered the two instruments to be interchangeable in their unique range and depth of expressiveness, and the two works remain important foundational works for both instruments equally.

In this revealing program, the two Sonatas are presented side-by-side for both clarinet and viola with the late Australian composer Roger Smalley’s Trio, which uses fragments from Brahms’ Sonatas to construct a vibrant work that is, at once, full of Romantic gestures and contemporary complexity. The ever-popular Concerto for Clarinet and Viola by Max Bruch accompanies these works in a setting for trio, arranged by the composer.


Johannes Brahms
Sonata for Clarinet and Piano in E-flat, Op.120, No.2

Roger Smalley
Trio for Clarinet, Viola and Piano

Johannes Brahms
Sonata for Viola and Piano in F minor, Op.120 No.1

Max Bruch
Concerto for Clarinet & Viola Op.88 (arr. by the composer for Viola, Clarinet and Piano)

Duration: 90 mins without interval (approx.)



28 October 2021
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
$39 – $69
Book Now:
View Event Website


Melbourne Recital Centre
Primrose Potter Salon, Melbourne Recital Centre, 31 Sturt Street
Melbourne, victoria 3006 Australia
+ Google Map
(03) 9699 3333
View Venue Website