« All Events

  • This event has passed.

One Of Australia’s Most Acclaimed Pianists Will Join TMO For Fever

25 August 2018 @ 8:00 pm - 10:00 pm AEST

$7 – $58

TICKETS: Available online or by calling (02) 8004-3472.

The Metropolitan Orchestra (TMO), led by Chief Conductor and Artistic Director Sarah-Grace Williams, will perform their much anticipated 2018 All-Russian program.

Titled Fever, this TMO tradition dedicated to the composers of Russia will feature Tamara-Anna Cislowska as soloist for Shostakovich’s cheerful Piano Concerto no 2. 

The feverish evening of Eastern European music will include Rimsky-Korsakov’s Capriccio Espagnol and Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances.

Appearing for the first time with conductor Williams and TMO, Tamara-Anna Cislowska has performed internationally across five continents with some of the world’s leading orchestras including as soloist with the London Philharmonic, the New Zealand Symphony, and all the Australian Symphony Orchestras.

Winner of the 2015 ARIA award for ‘Best Classical Album’, Tamara has also won international prizes in London, Italy and Greece, including the Rovere d’Oro.

In Australia she was the youngest pianist to win the ABC Young Performer of the Year at age 14, is a recipient of the Freedman Fellowship (2003) from the Music Council of Australia, and in 2012 won the APRA-AMCOS Art Music Award for ‘Performance of the Year’ (ACT).

“We are thrilled to welcome one of Australia’s most talented pianists for this concert.  Tamara is a specialist in Russian music and I have no doubt this performance will be electric from the first note to the last,” said Sarah-Grace Williams.

Sharing the program will be Rimsky-Korsakov’s lively Capriccio Espagnol. This Spanish inspired work allows every section of the orchestra to take its turn leading the famously sensual dance, before finishing in a riotous whirl of colors.

“TMO has become renowned for its vibrant delivery of Russian works. This program is full of passion and grit. I know the orchestra will be as excited as I am to get their teeth stuck into this.  The concert hall will certainly be alive with energy!” Said Sarah-Grace.

Rachmaninoff’s exuberant Symphonic Dances includes several quotations from his other works and is remarkable for its use of the alto saxophone as a solo instrument.

Composed in America after fleeing Russia when WWII erupted, this final work from Rachmaninoff is not only a reflection of a longing for his homeland, but is often regarded as a summing-up of his entire career as a composer.

This conquering orchestral suite will finalise a formidable evening of high energy music.

MET CONCERT #4:  FEVER Presented by Cruiseco


  • RIMSKY-KORSAKOV Capriccio Espagnol
  • SHOSTAKOVICH Piano Concerto no. 2
  • RACHMANINOFF Symphonic Dances


  • Conductor: Sarah-Grace Williams
  • Soloists: Tamara-Anna Cislowska


25 August 2018
8:00 pm - 10:00 pm
$7 – $58
Book Now:


Eugene Goossens Hall, Ultimo
720 Harris Street
Ultimo, NSW 2007 Australia