« All Events

Sydney Mozart Society | Southern Cross Soloists

20 October 2021 @ 8:00 pm - 9:30 pm AEDT

Southern Cross Soloists return to the Sydney Mozart Society with a program of masterworks by composers renowned for their bold risk-taking, brazen originality and demands on their musicians. Virtuosity abounds with Telemann’s gypsy-inspired Trio Sonata, Mozart’s ground-breaking Oboe Quartet and Weber’s dazzlingly Clarinet Concerto No 1 as well as Bruch’s exotic Kol Nidrei and Berlioz’s viola masterpiece portraying a dreamer wandering through the mountains. The program concludes with Mozart’s epic C minor Piano Concerto that was described as an unmatchable masterpiece by master composers.

Celebrating a 26 year legacy in 2021, Southern Cross Soloists has established itself as one of Australia’s pre-eminent classical music ensembles. It is a collective of some of Australia’s leading instrumental soloists including Tania Frazer (oboe), Jonathan Henderson (flute), Ashley Smith (clarinet), Alan Smith (violin), Blair Harris (cello), James Wannan (viola) and Alex Raineri (piano).


TELEMANN Trio sonata for flute, violin and continuo in D minor, TWV42:d10

MOZART Oboe Quartet in F major, K 370/368b

BRUCH Kol Nidrei, Op.47

WEBER Clarinet concerto no 1 in F minor, Op.73

BERLIOZ Harold in Italy, Op.16 I:’Harold in the Mountains’

MOZART Piano concerto no 24 in C minor, K 491.

Sydney Mozart Society is a not-for-profit group dedicated to promoting the music of Mozart and to providing Sydney audiences with world-class performances by leading chamber musicians.



20 October 2021
8:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Book Now:


The Concourse: Concert Hall, Chatswood
409 Victoria Avenue
Chatswood, NSW 2067 Australia
+ Google Map