Ironwood 2017 Subscription

Loading Map....

Date: 22/04/2017

Starting at: 6:30 PM

Venue: Sydney Conservatorium of Music: Recital Hall East (Conservatorium Road, Sydney, NSW, 2000)

Event summary:

Tickets: $140 Adults | $90 concession

Ironwood is a renowned Australian period-instrument ensemble lauded for its historically-informed exploration of repertoire from the late-Renaissance to the late Romantic eras as well as its support of newly commissioned works. Established in 2006, the ensemble draws on a wealth of experience and expertise bringing together specialist leaders in the field. Core members are Rachael Beesley, Robin Wilson, Julia Fredersdorff, Anna McMichael, (violins), Daniel Yeadon (cello) and Neal Peres Da Costa (historical keyboards). Ironwood has its own subscription series, presented at the major festivals and concert series around Australia, and has toured Europe and America. With several innovative recordings on the ABC Classics and Vexations840 labels, Ironwood is regularly broadcast nationally on ABC FM and around the world.

CONCERT 1 – The Poetic and the FantasticConcert Held at Glebe Town Hall


  • Schmelzer Lamento sopra Ferdinandi III
  • Schmelzer Die Fechtschule
  • Biber Balletti
  • Becker Sonata no. 3
  • Becker Pavan


  • Julia Fredersdorff (violin)
  • Anna McMichael (violin), guest viola player,
  • Daniel Yeadon (cello and viola da gamba),
  • Neal Peres Da Costa (harpsichord and organ)

CONCERT 2 – From Schumann to Brahms – New PathsConcert Held at Sydney Conservatorium


  • Schumann Piano Quintet in E flat major op. 44
  • Brahms Piano Trio in C major op. 87


  • Robin Wilson (violin)
  • Anna McMichael (violin) guest viola player
  • Daniel Yeadon (cello)
  • Neal Peres Da Costa (historical piano)

CONCERT 3 – Ironwood: A Perfect CombinationConcert Held at Sydney Conservatorium


  • Graf String Quartet no. 4 in D major
  • Mozart String Quartet K. 157 in C major
  • Haydn String Quartet op. 77 no. 2 in F major


  • Rachael Beesley (violin)
  • Julia Fredersdorff (violin) guest viola player
  • Daniel Yeadon (cello)

CONCERT 4 – Early Romantic GemsConcert Held at Sydney Conservatorium


  • Eberl Piano Quintet op. 41
  • Schubert String Quartet D. 94 in D major


  • Anna McMichael (violin)
  • Rachael Beesley (violin) guest viola players
  • Daniel Yeadon (cello)
  • Neal Peres Da Costa (historical piano)

Add to your calendar

iCal or 0

Book your place now

Bookings are closed for this event.

While classikON strives for accuracy in the information we provide, we accept no responsibility for inaccuracies. If you see an error or omission, please let us know and check details before attending a concert.

If you have any questions, just contact us.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *